Joker for each day

Viktor Khryapa (photo M. Serbin,
The first title of the season goes to CSKA who sustained the run of UNICS in the second half. Evgeny Pashutin found good reserve again which helped in the tough moments. CSKA is the champion of the 1st VTB Unified League. J R Holden named Final Four MVP.

CSKA vs. UNICS Kazan: 66-55

Evgeny Pashutin, CSKA head coach:
“This is a significant victory, the first title for the new team. Our concept is different, but goals remain the same. And that puts twice more responsibility on us. To win here, in Kaunas, was a matter of pride for us. This Final Four is the tournament of the highest level with three Euroleague Top 16 teams participating plus UNICS who confirmed its level by beating Zalgiris. We are thankful to Kaunas, Lithuania, fans who created phenomenal atmosphere. The feelings reminded of those of the Euroleague Final Four, and I am sure that all the guys were happy to play here. I’d like to mention Alexander Kaun who made huge progress in last three months. He barely played last season, he got back injury in summer and he become the best center here. J R deserved to be MVP. He is one of CSKA veterans but he works very hard every day. He can stop any scorer on any night and he reads the game perfectly. I should add that CSKA strength is in team game. Anyone can be hot in any game. Yesterday it was Ponkrashov and Planinic. Today – Kaun and Holden. I hope we will continue like this in future games of the season.”

Jon Robert Holden (photo M. Serbin,
Alexander Kaun dunks the ball (photo M. Serbin,
Trajan Langdon (photo M. Serbin,
Andrey Vorontsevich (photo M. Serbin,
Pops Mensah-Bonsu (photo M. Serbin,
Ramunas Siskauskas (photo M. Serbin,
Viktor Khryapa (photo M. Serbin,
Anton Ponkrashov (photo M. Serbin,
Zoran Planinic (photo M. Serbin,
Eugeny Pashutin (photo M. Serbin,
CSKA fans (photo M. Serbin,
CSKA winner (photo M. Serbin,
Sergey Kuschenko, Andrey Vatutin and Eugeny Pashutin (photo M. Serbin,
Sergey Ivanov and Eugeny Pashutin (photo M. Serbin,
Jon Robert Holden named the tournament MVP (photo M. Serbin,
Alexander Kaun (photo M. Serbin,
Victor Keyru (photo M. Serbin,
Jon Robert Holden (photo M. Serbin,